Announcing the 2017 EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Award finalists

20 July 2017 / Published in Business

Each year New Zealand’s top business talent is recognised at the prestigious EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards which celebrate entrepreneurs who have created and sustained successful growing businesses.

We’re delighted to be supporting these awards for the 6th year running and contributing to the development of our current and future innovative businesses and business leaders. 

The 2017 award categories are:

  • Products: Retailers, wholesalers and manufacturers of products from all industries
  • Services: Providers of professional services (e.g., financial, engineering, architecture, real estate, property, recreation and leisure)
  • Technology & emerging industries: Software, hardware, telecommunications, digital media, biotechnology and health sciences
  • Young: Entrepreneurs 35 years or younger across all industries (as at 17 June 2016)
  • Master Entrepreneur: for leaders of well-established businesses which have a significant commitment to entrepreneurship

Last night, some of New Zealand’s best entrepreneurs were celebrated in the announcement of this year’s finalists across the five categories.

2017 EY Entrepreneur Of The Year finalists:

  • Jamie Beaton, Crimson Education
  • Jamie Bennett and Patrick Broadbent, Snap Rentals
  • Mai Chen, Chen Palmer
  • Peter Cross, Dairyworks
  • Thomas Dietz, WOOP
  • Peter Harris, CBL Corporation
  • Mark Hurley, Little Giant
  • Will Lomax, Onguard Group
  • Daniel Painter, Navigate Travel
  • Hamish Pinkham, Rhythm and Vines Festival
  • Andy Prow, RedShield Security
  • Ihaka Rongonui, Turbo Staff
  • Peter Shapiro, RedBull Powder Company
  • Carey Smith, Ray White New Zealand
  • Stewart Taylor, Tomoana Warehousing
  • Peter Wei, Latitude Technologies

Awards director Jon Hooper describes this year’s finalists as “inspiring entrepreneurs” from all walks of life and from a diverse range of industries. “Their hard work and unwavering self-belief has contributed to a significant growth engine in our economy and their achievements deserve to be celebrated“.

The five category winners will be announced in August, and the overall New Zealand Entrepreneur Of The Year Award will be announced at the awards evening in October. The overall winner will represent New Zealand at EY’s World Entrepreneur Of The Year event in Monaco in June 2018 where 150 cities across 60 countries participate in the awards, with each national winner representing their country.


More articles from ASB